Archive for July 17th, 2014

Counting the days

Sitting in the doctor’s office counting the days I will be in Uganda (15), a necessary practice for getting my malaria meds. While there are a variety of types available, the daily ones have worked well for me in the past. Guessing that will be the same this time.

Which leads me to other things to count:
• Days until I leave: 13
• Times I want to get together with my granddaughter before I go: 2
• Times I hope to post before I leave: 13 (see first item in list)
• Suitcases to pack: 1 or 2, not sure
• Devotions to finish writing: 30
• Book to publish: 1 (for teaching this fall)
• Textbooks to order for seminary: 2 (class starts 6 days after I return)
• Birthdays to celebrate: 3 (mine, my daughter’s [born on my birthday], and my brother-in-law)
• Presentations to prepare: 3, oops, no, make that 4 (3 for Uganda, 1 for here)
• Presentations to make: 1 (DISC presentation for ministry leaders)

I don’t want to count any more. It’s too early in the morning, and I have too much to do. Instead, I’ll just wait peacefully for the doctor to come in and write my travel prescriptions, and I’ll trust God to guide me through my days so that each one counts.

In words an eight year old can understand

I had a fun-filled afternoon with my eight year old granddaughter L and her younger step-sister E. It was fun to experience life through the eyes and interests of children: snacks, puzzles, reading (classic Beatrix Potter), coloring, swimming (lots of jumping, splashing, and calls to “look at me, Nonna”), a movie, and more snacks.

We talked about fancy words like impertinent and fortnight as we read The Tale of Peter Rabbit and The Tale of Squirrel Nutkin.

We looked at paintings by Vincent Van Gogh, Pablo Picasso, and Henri Matisse. E’s picture for her mom looked like Van Gogh’s Starry Night, which prompted our art search. L then wanted me to show E pictures that Picasso drew of a woman looking straight at you and sideways at the same time. She proceeded to draw one for me, a la Picasso, and it was so good I had her sign it!

Movie selection: The Prince of Egypt, and they were glued to the screen!

We’re kind of an eclectic bunch around here.

Even more fun, though, was my granddaughter choosing to put together the puzzle of Africa, asking me to pull up a map on my iPad so that she could get the countries in the right place. She does this really quickly these days, by the way. Especially compared to the first time three years ago when she dumped all the pieces on the floor and it took forever to figure out where all the different countries are!

Then, finding ways to explain the length of the flights I will take to get to Uganda: “the first one is just two or three hours; the second one is eight hours, one hour longer than you spend at school; the next one is another eight hours; and then the last one is one hour.” That was followed by pulling out the iPad once again and showing her a map of the world and the places each flight would take me. What did we used to do without the internet?

In the midst of it, I had a chance to do some conflict resolution, and talk with them about honoring and respecting one another. As an aside, I let them know that this is some of what I’ll be talking about with people in Uganda, too. L knows that I work with Lead Like Jesus, and she is quick to talk with me about Jesus. I love that!

Finally, we decided we want to get together and make paper bead necklaces like the ones I bring home from Uganda. That has to wait for another day, but hopefully very soon!

In the midst of our fun activities, I learned of another donation toward my trip, filling my heart with thankfulness for those who support me. I am beginning to believe that once I get to Uganda, I’ll have money enough for a place to stay and meals! (Latest update: $2660/$3900 raised, waiting on $1240 to come in. Still plenty of time, my flight doesn’t leave for another two weeks.)

In reality, I know and trust that since God is the one who has invited me to come to Uganda, He is making the way and will provide the resources we need.

Faith like a child, that’s what we’re called to, right?